WellPostpartum Weblog Updated for YOU!

Dear Readers,

It has been a wonderful journey writing WellPostpartum Weblog for the past six months.  I am honored to bring it’s content to you twice each week.  Since the number of subscribers continues to skyrocket, I will re post important, older information for the new readers.

I will also be adding new material to each post so the content stays fresh.  Please take the time to read/re-read these posts, click on the links and offer critiques via the ‘comment’ section below.  Reader feedback has been invaluable to shape content!

Since starting, the main types of feedback are:

1. Mothers have contacted me trying to find help to wean off their medications.  I have been surprised that there is such a need. 

2. Providers have said they feel overwhelmed with all the information, albeit wonderful and educational.  They want a simple protocol to offer their clients.

3. Internet message boards and support groups are flooded with women asking for alternative-type advice.  They are searching outside their primary medical relationships, seeking peers to try to get relief from their symptoms.  Many are reluctant to use meds; some are not finding relief or understanding while in a medical relationship. 

I will be writing on these topics soon.  Dr. Shoshana Bennett will co-author a piece just for professionals trying to become more integrative.

For today, enjoy this segment from my home page, reiterating the need for all of us to become more aware of integrative care for maternal mental health.

 

Why is it important to study non-pharmacological treatments for perinatal mood and anxiety disorders?

Did you know that nearly 90% of depressed patients are nutritionally deficient?

According to University of Toronto’s Cindy Lee-Dennis, up to 50% of mothers are often reluctant to take antidepressant medication due to concerns about breast milk transmission or potential side-effects.

The Australian researcher Anne Buist says women are often reluctant to admit how they are feeling to doctors who they fear will give them an antidepressant.
Marlene P. Freeman, M.D. shows that doctors can sometimes have difficulty explaining the risks of untreated perinatal mood disorders and the use of medications versus the benefits of treatment to their patients. Some women will remain fearful or unconvinced of the need for medication.

Indeed, some women are so concerned about the safety of medications that they will refuse to seek help altogether. One study shows that only 10 percent of women think it is safe for women to take medication for depression while they are pregnant, compared to 68 percent of doctors.

This reluctance and fear, added to cases of women who do not find prompt relief from standard medical treatment, speak to the need for well-researched complementary, alternative, or integrative approaches to maternal wellness.

Freeman and others suggest that non-pharmacological treatments may be most appropriate for cases of mild to moderate perinatal depression and anxiety. Researchers are calling for more studies to be conducted on complementary approaches for the prevention and treatment of various psychiatric disorders.
Well Postpartum Weblog provides a place for professionals and consumers to learn about effective treatment approaches to be used along with medications or instead of medications.

Click “SUBSCRIBE To” in the right-hand column for twice weekly education updates, articles by prominent guest authors, free chapters of published works, and an occasional series written daily.
Enjoy reading and send others to http://www.wellpostpartum.com!

Comments
One Response to “WellPostpartum Weblog Updated for YOU!”
  1. Julie Smith says:

    1/14/09

    Hello,

    I would like to share my story with other mothers regarding your recent article about anti-depressants and pray this will impart hope to someone who needs to hear it.

    My baby boy was very colicky, I had no support from my husband, and as a result suffered from sleep deprivation, exhaustion and anxiety. My husband was also unemployed. I was up and on call literally 24/7 for months with no sleep relief.
    However I had reservations about using drugs due to concerns about breast milk. In the end, I did try two anti-depressants, and chose to stop breastfeeding. I really regret that now but thought I was doing what was best for my baby and myself at the time. I would see other mothers breastfeeding even up to a year postpartum, and I was so jealous. I could still be giving my baby that gift.
    I believe I would have been fine if I’d just had help and support, because things got worse after trying the anti-depressants. The first gave me insomnia and a scary panic attack (a side effect of the med), which sent me to the hospital. This event alone created a cascade of events as my husband later used this against me. The next also triggered a panic attack, muscle twitching, and muscle pain, even on half the low dose. For a long time, I just didn’t feel like myself. I later started having more intense muscle and nerve pain, either from the medications, or the marital stress that began. Keep in mind I took these drugs for less than a week.

    Seven months later, I still have muscle twitching and muscle pain. Pharmicists, doctors, and the makers of the drugs cannot give me any answers.

    I am also now dealing with a a nasty divorce. You could say this isn’t exactly what I’d hoped for, dreamt of, and expected when I had a child. Pregnancy, childbirth and the postpartum period is hard enough (especially when working full time). Therefore it is a terrible pity when women seek help from drugs, only to find matters worse. Is anyone out there wising up about these pharamceutical drugs? Have you noticed the commercials of the 20 side effects that may kill you just to have relief from one? Have you noticed that a few years after a drug is ‘approved’ and introduced it is removed from the market because it has killed people? Be cautious!! Educate yourself first! I was told if I didn’t take the antidepressants, I was ‘noncompliant,’ and that I was ‘overly concerned’ about my baby’s safety because of my concerns about the meds getting into the breast milk.

    I hope women out there find the help they need. The Wellpostpartum site is right on target about supplementing with progesterone, omega-3’s, magnesium, etc. and the fact that postpartum deficiencies must be nutritionally based. Keep reading it, implement the suggestions, visit your naturopath, keep on truckin’, and find hope in God above, who is so much bigger than your symptoms or problems.

    May God Bless you and help you. Please write if you need a sounding board: charliesmom007@live.com

    Julie

Leave a Reply

